Choose Wisely

(Can’t you just hear the Grail Knight saying those crucial words to Indy?)

I often hear people, myself included, saying that life is hard. That it’s not easy. But really, is it that difficult?  I think we make it difficult. We want to be involved in every possible activity, have to watch every popular TV show so we have something to talk about with friends and co-workers, or want to have every stupid Apple gadget that comes out causing us to go broke. It appears that we, as a society, cannot sit still and just be. We always have to search for and move onto the next best thing, which will most likely be obsolete or uncool by the time you obtain it. In addition, nobody is willing to change their beliefs or ways because of stubbornness. I recently bought a beer koozie (yes, I looked up how to properly spell that) that says, “I’m not stubborn. My way is just better.” It made me laugh because it reminded me of my husband and I.

We choose the people in our lives and we also choose the words that come out of our mouths. I happened upon two blog posts this morning that relate to what I’ve had on my mind lately. The first blog entitled “Who Makes You Better?” discusses two types of people in your life: Allies of Glory and Thieves of Ambition. The author of the blog, Antonio Neves, defines these two types of people as follows:

“Your Allies of Glory are those people that support you, encourage you, challenge you, hold you accountable, and push you to give your all without excuses.

Your Thieves of Ambition are those people that question your motives, support mediocrity, are afraid of success, enable your excuses, and accept the status quo.”

I have a mixture of these people in my life, near and far (who doesn’t?), with some taking part in both roles. Thankfully my husband is an Ally of Glory. He pushes and supports me and holds me accountable for all the stupid stuff I do, and boy, does he challenge me! I guess that’s what I get for marrying an attorney. Ha! (MFMK, baby!)

However, lately, I feel that I’ve let some of the Thieves of Ambition take over, and unfortunately, that includes a part of me, too. I learned some bad habits from a former gymnastics coach, whom I have written about before here – bad thoughts, unhealthy words, self-deprecating type of stuff. That is the negative side of me that comes out every once in a while, which I absolutely hate. This is where the second blog comes in…

I enjoy reading blog posts from CrossFit Lisbeth (even though my husband teases me for reading inspirational stuff). They’re very inspiring to me. Yes, they can be cheesy, but whatever, they work for me. Today’s blog is entitled “What We Think.” Again, the words we choose have a huge effect on our being, as well as those around us. Continually spouting negativity towards yourself or others does no good for anyone. We also need to be aware of words that we use that may have no effect on us personally, but may have some other meaning to someone else. What doesn’t hurt you may hurt someone else. What may seem funny or a joke to you may be inappropriate to someone else. Be aware, be sensitive, be kind.

Choose your words wisely. Surround yourself with those who make you better. Get rid of the negative. Ultimately, it is up to you whether or not your life is difficult or easy.

Leave a Reply

