Day 5 = Almost Refreshed Ninja

Today was a better day. WOOT. I was able to get a little more sleep as well as take a nap and rest throughout the day. It’s so fun snuggling with Molliekins on the couch. I love the pleased look she gets on her furry little face when we have couch snuggle time.

It was a warm day, which made me crave some of my favorite hot weather snacks, such as ice cream and a big ice cold soda. I was also craving sweet potato fries and tried my hardest not to eat them today. Come dinner I couldn’t take it anymore. I want sweet potato fries!!! Even though they are considered legal in the Paleo diet I don’t want to have them all the time. I think I ate out for lunch everyday this week and my goal is to start eating at home for lunch. It’s so hard when I’m running around. However, now that I cut back my work days I am able to do so. Hooray!

The workout wasn’t too bad for me today. For the first part of the WOD I stuck with 65lbs even though you were supposed to gradually increase your weight. I didn’t want to overdo it since I’m still in the healing process, so instead I focused on my form while lifting lighter weight. During the main part of the WOD we did a skill called Man Makers, which I actually kind of like doing. However, because of my foot I can’t put pressure on it in the push-up position so I tried to do it on one leg. Danger! I almost crashed on my face. So, instead I had to do it on my knees.

Here’s a video of what a man maker is:

One thing I did notice during the workout was that I didn’t feel sluggish. I felt a little tired because of my exhausting week, but I didn’t feel sluggish. Does that make sense? My body felt clean and it felt good. This was the first time I’ve felt some sort of results from the diet. Yay!

WOD:
I. Warm-up – mobility- 2x barbell complex, 1x normal warm-up
II. Skills – Front squat
III. Front squats
5,5,3,3,2,2,1
*You are supposed to gradually increase your weight, but I stuck with 65lbs so I wasn’t putting too much weight/pressure on my foot. Instead I focused on my form.

then, AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) –  7 min
25 double unders**
10 pull-ups
5 man makers**
IV. Cooldown – Samson stretch, 2x 100m sprint (optional)
**Modified: 50 1-legged singles, but actually completed 4 1-legged double unders; man makers were done on my knees. Tried doing it 1-legged and almost crashed on my face. Danger!

Total: 2 rounds + 5 pull-ups

Grub for the day:
Breakfast: eggs, salami, and spinach scramble with salsa on top (no cheese, boo!), raw almonds, banana, OJ
Lunch: Chipotle bowl with steak, grilled veggies, pico de gallo, guacamole, lettuce
Beverage snack: coffee w/stevia
Dinner: Tomatoes drizzled w/delicious olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette, chicken & steak skewers w/veggies, sweet potato fries, glass of Pinot Gris (Yum!)

Cravings:
Breakfast burrito, ice cream, mushrooms (yay, a healthy craving!), chips, chocolate, cheese

Leave a Reply

