Day 9 = Snackalicious Ninja

Holy snack attack today! You’d think I was smoking the wacky tabacky with the serious munchies I had going on. I was SO close to buying Cheetos, and instead, spent about 10 minutes standing in front of the “healthy” section of the student store on campus trying to find something else. I probably checked every “healthy” item for its ingredients to see if it contained added sugar. Not surprisingly, I would say maybe 97% of the items did. Luckily I found some tasty baked-then-dried apple chips by Bare Fruit. “Ingredients: apples.” Perfect! I also bought this nasty vegan chocolate brownie bar thing. Sometimes a woman just needs her chocolate. That was not the chocolate this woman wanted. Oh well. I tried. I also ate sardines for the first time today. They weren’t bad, but they were weird. This is definitely going to be an acquired taste.
Other than my bad case of the munchies today was neat. I felt content and I am finally starting to feel like my normal positive self again. Hooray! I just felt good and that made me happy. I have decided to reinstate an activity I used to do a long time ago. I used to give myself missions to do for other people (including people I didn’t know) either when I went to work, when I went out with friends, or just whenever. My goal is to set a new mission every week. I’m going to be a little selfish and make my first mission to do something nice for myself. I haven’t figured out what it will be yet, but I have some ideas simmering in my dome. Stay tuned for Mission: Do Something Nice.
The workout was pretty fun, but also tiring and a bit scary. This was my first time doing the Snatch Balance, so I was a bit nervous.
Here’s a video of what a Snatch Balance is:

What I like about this video is that it is taken from different angles and that the guy explains what he did wrong and how to correct it. I always get nervous doing skills where the weight is above my head and I have to squat down. However, I liked the way this movement felt. I liked how you push your arms up, while moving your body down. It was neat. Me gusta mucho. I’ve also been working on my handstands lately. I miss the days where I was able to walk around my house and up and down the stairs on my hands. I will get there again. I LOVE doing handstands. That was my thing back in the day. Well, I am very excited to say that I did a press handstand today! WOOT. I haven’t done this in over 10 years! If you have no idea what that is it’s where you start with both hands and feet on the ground with your feet straddled. Then, you slowly lift your feet off the ground without jumping and go up into a handstand. I even did it twice! Granted I got some serious crampage when my muscles were wondering what the heck I was doing, but I did it! I’m so excited! I am also proud of myself as I have been really focusing on stretching and getting my flexibility back and am finally seeing and feeling the results. So excited for my rest day tomorrow.

To quote Ice Cube – “I gotta say, today was a good day.”

Muchos besos para mis amigos y familia.

Workout of the Day:
I. Mobility – Grinder PT 10 mins
II. Skills
III. Snatch Balance – 5, 5, 5, 5, 5 reps
Started with 35lbs (just the bar) and got up to 65lbs. Was hoping to do more but this skill is scary!
then,
2 Rounds for time:
10 Hang snatch 75/55lbs
10 Kettlebell swings 53/35lbs*
Run 200m*
IV. Cool down – Samson stretch, misc. stretching, 50 leg lifts
Misc: also worked on handstand holds

Time: 6:06 – was a bit slow today
*Modified: Row 200m, 26lbs kettlebell

Grub for the day:
Breakfast: egg scramble w/broccoli & sardines (weird!), cantaloupe, avocado
Snack: raw almonds, TJ’s fruit wrap thingy, coffee w/stevia
Lunch: lettuce wrapped burger w/grilled onions, tomatoes, and pickles, side salad w/balsamic vinaigrette
Snack: Bare Fruit baked-dried Fuji apple chips, beef jerky, Pure Organic chocolate brownie bar (not Paleo but pretty close)
Dinner: mixed greens w/pan fried chicken and sweet peppers both cooked in olive oil, glass of Chardonnay (2 buck chuck… holla!)
Snack: Bare Fruit baked-dried Fuji apple chips, cantaloupe

Cravings:
bagel & cream cheese, chocolate, Cheetos, anything with a tortilla, soda

Leave a Reply

