Day 15 = Back in the Saddle Ninja

Well, that was an interesting past few days. Mr. Ninja and I unintentionally deviated from the diet and boy, did we pay for it! We have learned our lesson and are excited to get back in the saddle. We had a fun weekend spending a lot of time together, which included 8 hours at the beach on Saturday. It was so much fun! It’s funny how you find out how horrible you are at applying sunscreen the day after being in the sun. I have a few random patches on my body that are a bit red, where the rest is just fine. Oh, silly Ninja.

I was unable to do the workout today because it involved a million burpees, well, only 100, but I’m sure it felt like a million. That workout is called “G.I. Jane.” Not only did it involve burpees, they were burpee pull-ups. I can usually do about 15 max right now since I have to do them one-legged. I didn’t want to risk injuring my left foot, so I decided to do a different, but equally as horrible workout. I decided to do “Karen,” which is 150 wall balls. I think wall balls are my 3rd least favorite exercise right behind burpees and thrusters.

Here is a video that shows “Karen” in action, along side instruction on how to do a proper wall ball.

I’ve only done this workout twice before and both times I used a 10lb ball. My best time out of the two is 7:38. This time I decided to use the 14lb ball, and ended up with a time of 9:03. I’m usually able to do at least 10-25 wall balls in a row, but yesterday I was a bit sluggish and was only able to do 5 at a time. However, my first set I did 20 in a row. Although my time was a bit longer I think it was an improvement considering I used a heavier ball. I was quite proud of myself, actually. I was really considering not working out today. I was so unbelievably tired, and just wanted to sleep. Thanks to She-Ra and Mr. Ninja for encouraging me to workout.

I started my Mission: Do Something Nice today. My first mission was to do something nice for myself this week. I am going to spend at least 15 min outside enjoying the weather and scenery by myself everyday. I have felt a bit disconnected from myself for the past couple of months, so I feel this will be a way to reintroduce myself to myself. Since I’ve been missing my mom I decided to call her during my time outside. I know I wasn’t really by myself, but my mom gave birth to me, so we are sort of the same person. Ha! It was fun talking to her about all sorts of things. I wish she lived closer, but I am so grateful that I still have the ability to talk with her. So many of my friends have lost their moms over the past couple of years that I make a point of it to talk to my parents as much as possible. It was so nice to hear her voice.

My mission for you this week is to call your parent(s) just to say hello and that you love them.

WOD:
I. Warm-up: 400m run – mobility – 2x normal warm-up*
II. “Karen” – 150 wall balls, 14lbs

Time: 9:03
*Modified: did not run or row

Grub for the day:
Breakfast: eggs, turkey bacon, coffee w/stevia
Snack: apples, strawberries
Lunch: Chipotle bowl w/chicken, grilled veggies, pico de gallo, guacamole, lettuce
Snack: cashews, beef jerky
Dinner: NY strip steak w/stir-fry veggies cooked in olive oil

Cravings:
soda, french fries

Leave a Reply

