Day 19 = Real Hunter-Gatherer Watching, Homework Swamped, Cheese Craving Ninja

 Welcome to the gun show. I love my CrossFit family!

“Everyday I’m shufflin’!” Holy busy past few days, hence the lack of posts. I am in the process of finishing up Summer Session at UCSB which is only 6 weeks long. This shortened session means information overload in a very short period of time. However, I do enjoy going to class everyday because it helps to hear the info consecutive days in a row. I am actually quite pleased with my instructors and TAs this session. I was sort of nervous doing the summer session as my past few instructors bombarded us with tons of reading and writing material and assignments that I was losing my mind. Seriously, Spring quarter was a disaster. Grade-wise I was totally fine, mentally, not so much. I don’t think planning a wedding helped with the situation either. Anywho, both of my instructors this session are very organized and have made this shortened session a fun experience.

This past Tuesday I watched a documentary for my anthropology class called The Hunters, which followed the Jul’Hoansi tribe back in the 50s. I was quite excited to see this documentary considering I am “attempting” to follow this hunter-gatherer type of diet. The film was interesting in that these tribes put so much effort into finding their food and at times don’t drink water for up to four days. In contrast to us being able to walk over to our fridge or go to the store to pick up something to eat. Kinda makes me feel selfish, lazy, and unappreciative, especially with all of the food that we waste. We’re working on that. The part of the documentary that I had a difficult time with was watching them hunt, kill, and carve one of my favorite animals, the giraffe. This is the dilemma that I have with being a meat eater. I know animals need to be killed in order for us to eat meat, it’s just difficult for me to deal with. I wish animals didn’t have to die for our survival. I’ve tried being a vegetarian, but my body needs the meat. Being a veggie works for some, but not for others, which leads me to discuss the Paleo diet.

It is obvious from my previous posts that I am having a difficult time with this diet. I don’t like the whole “eat as much meat and fats as you want” aspect of it. That doesn’t work for me or my body. I’ve been thinking about this diet a lot lately while I’ve been eating various foods that I “should” and “should not” be eating. Yes, I am feeling better, but at the same time I am not. Let’s just say that my plumbing isn’t working as well as it was before the diet. I attribute that to all of the meat I am eating. Yes, I am eating enough veggies. A girl can only eat so much! I am noticing and realizing that I can’t eat as much bread or cheese as I used to, I need to learn moderation. Moderation is something I always preach and am still learning to implement in certain aspects of my life (especially with food). I am going to continue with the diet, but not be so hard on myself if I eat something that isn’t Paleo-friendly. Like cheese. I want some mother effin’ cheese!!! One thing I am proud of myself for following is not drinking soda. I had a couple over the weekend, but other than that I have pretty much stayed away from it. Although I miss it a lot, I feel much better. I am going to try to only have it with booze. I need to have it with my vodka and rum!

I am going back to gym tonight after taking three days off and I’m excited! I miss being able to do full workouts. I’m hoping that I will be able to in about a month. I also miss playing on my softball team and am hoping that I’ll be able to play next season, which I believe starts at the end of the month. I met with a couple of friends the other day who are physical therapists (and a cute married couple, too) and they said that I’m on the right track with my healing. I was very pleased to hear that. It’s so interesting to see the differences in your own body. They had me balancing on one leg, jumping off one foot to another, and other exercises to assess where I’m at with healing. Funny enough, even though it’s my right Achilles that I injured, my right leg and foot are a bit stronger than my left. This is because my right side was dominant when I did gymnastics. So, I still need to work on strengthening and evening out my muscles on each side, but in different places.

Wow, this is a long blog. I guess that’s what happens when you don’t write everyday. I’m looking forward to the long weekend. Even though I have tons of homework, studying, and projects to do I look forward to not having to wake up at 6am.

Have a fun and safe weekend everyone!
xo

WOD:
Today’s workout is “Annie” named after my hero, Annie. Unfortunately, I can’t do it because it involves lots of double-unders and I’m not allowed to jump yet. I’ll have to figure out another workout to do. Hmmm…

I. Warmup: Mobility – 3x Normal
II. Skills: Double-unders
III. “Annie”
50-40-30-20-10
Double-unders
Sit-ups
IV. Cooldown- Rope climb and sand bag carry tec.

Grub for the day:
Breakfast: didn’t have time to eat (sad face)
Snack: beef jerky, cashews
Lunch: taco salad w/avocado, minus all the good stuff (cheese, chips, sour cream), delicious cantaloupe!
Dinner: Fresco – chicken wrap w/spinach, tomato, sprouts, avocado, herb cream cheese, side Caesar salad
Dessert: macaroon

Cravings:
Cheese, crackers, chocolate

Leave a Reply

