What a day, what a day…

What an emotion filled day it was yesterday, which is why I wasn’t able to update my blog last night. While doing errands yesterday I saw a dog get hit and run over by a van, and the driver sped off. Another woman and I tried to resuscitate the dog by doing chest compressions but it was too late. I keep replaying the incident in my head and every time I do I get tears in my eyes. It was such a horrible sight, but I can’t even imagine what the owner is feeling right now. He was a mess, his mom was a mess.

It’s a funny thing when life puts you in places for a reason. I was planning on taking the bus to do all of my errands, but the time that I was planning on leaving the bus had a gap in its schedule. Usually it comes every 20min or so, but the time that I wanted to leave yesterday it had an hour gap. With everything that I needed to do before the gym, I wouldn’t make it back in time so I had to drive. I live right across from the hospital, which has Sansum Clinics all around it as well. I was following a Sansum Clinic van when the accident happened. Right before he hit and killed the dog I saw that he was driving a bit erratic and fast. Perhaps he was in a rush. He tried to merge into another lane but had to swerve so he wouldn’t hit the car in the next lane. The next thing I see is the van jumping, then a dog running around in circles with a panicked look on his face. Shortly thereafter, he collapsed. The dog’s owner, two other women and I got out of our cars to help the dog. It was too late. He was hit so badly, he didn’t make it. We moved the dog to the side of the road and pulled our cars over as we were blocking all lanes of traffic. Luckily I had some big beach towels in my trunk and we laid the dog on top of one and laid the other one over him. It was so sad. I didn’t want other people driving by to see this and I somehow thought that by covering the dog like he was laying in bed would make him feel better. Even though he had passed, we were all trying to make him feel better by petting him and talking to him as if he was still alive. The other ladies and I were consoling the dog owner and when his mother arrived, we did the same. I don’t know why, but I felt that I was supposed to be there at that time to help. I can’t explain it, but I was supposed to be there. I hope the dog’s owners find peace soon. I wish that I got his number so I could see how he is doing. I gave him mine because he is planning on filing a police report because it was a hit and run, and I hope that he calls or even texts. I just want to see how he is doing and to give him my condolences. RIP Farley.

The workout was also a doozy and made me a bit emotional, but in a very odd way. Yesterday’s workout was called “JT” for Petty Officer 1st Class Jeff Taylor, 30, of Little Creek, VA, who was killed in Afghanistan in June 2005. We joked that the “JT’ stood for “Just Triceps” as that was pretty much the main muscle used. This was the first time I did my ring dips unassisted and it was so difficult. Even though it took me a while to complete the workout I was quite proud of myself that I did all of my ring dips without the assistance of the band. Needless to say, my upper body is extremely sore today. For some reason I was so giggly at the workout. Perhaps it was because I was so exhausted from the earlier events. Perhaps it was because it was so difficult that I didn’t know what else to do but laugh. Who knows, but it was so odd.

The Paleo Challenge is going well so far. I’m still craving bread, pizza, and cheese, but it’s not as bad as it was the first time we tried to do Paleo. I’m trying to eat more fruits and adding lettuce and other veggies in whenever I can. I wanted to buy cucumbers at Trader Joe’s the other day, but they were so expensive! It was dumb. I may have to go to Ralph’s to by my produce as the produce at TJ’s isn’t that good. One thing I find to be difficult with this diet is that you’re supposed to eat lots of meat and veggies, but I can’t eat a whole lot. My little body can only intake so much food. So trying to fit all of these veggies, fruits and meats in is quite difficult.

I am flying up to Seattle on Thursday for a friend’s wedding, so I’m going to try my best to stick as close to Paleo as possible, but that is highly unlikely. I know one meal for sure will not be Paleo… TACO TIME!!! It is a tradition that every time I go up to Seattle I have to have my beloved Taco Time. Only people from the PNW understand this sort of love for a fast food restaurant.

WOD:

I. Warm-up: 400m run/row* – Mobility – Barbell complex 2x
II. Skills
III. Hero WOD: “JT”
21-15-9 reps, for time:
Handstand push-ups
Ring dips
Push-ups
Time: 20:50
IV. Cooldown – lots of abs and recovery stretching

*Modified: only ran 200m as my foot was a little sore from the run yesterday.

Grub for the day:

Breakfast: lettuce wrap w/scrambled eggs, salsa, bacon
Snack: cashews, salami, banana chip
Lunch: lettuce wrap w/tuna (mixed with mayo: -5), tomatoes, drizzled w/olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette, sweet potato fries drizzled w/olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette
Snack: apples dipped in almond butter
Dinner: tri-tip steak with salad w/apples and drizzled w/olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette

Starting Points: 98
-5 for mayo
+3 for CrossFit workout

Ending Points:96

2 responses to “What a day, what a day…

  1. Hey good job on the dips! Have you tried Santa Cruz Markets for produce? The store DT is on Montecito and Castillo, close to CFSB, just on the other side of the railroad tracks. Their stuff is pretty cheap usually and I’m satisfied with the quality as well.

  2. Thank you! No, I haven’t been to the Santa Cruz Market yet, but I am interested to check it out. Casey has been to Tri County Produce and liked what they had, but we always forget to go to these places because it’s just so convenient to get our produce with our other items. Have you been there before? I will definitely make an effort to go check out these other places next time I go shopping. I’m tired of TJ’s produce. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

