Delusion, Distortion, or Reality?

This is how I feel when I am confronted by stupidity.

Tall Guy and I decided to get last minute massages last night because we’ve been a bit stressed lately – him with work, and me with job hunting, apartment hunting and now planning our move into our wonderful, new apartment, and trying to figure out how to avoid having surgery on my shoulder. We both felt great afterward, nice and relaxed, and silly me decided to check Facebook once I got home. Mind you, this was after the conclusion of the Presidential debate. Boy, was that a mistake. I felt my body tense and had thoughts of, “What the f*** happened tonight?” “Why is everyone talking about Big Bird?”

What I found to be most intriguing was that everyone was pretty much saying the exact same thing about the candidates, but from both sides and all walks of life. For a moment I was confused as to which candidate people were talking about. Republicans were saying that Romney totally nailed it and won the debate, and the Democrats saying the same about President Obama. It made me feel a little like this…

I forced myself to shut down my computer and go read. (Side note: if you’re looking for a new author to read, check out Carl Hiaasen. He’s fantastic.)

Come 5:30 in the morning I am wide awake and feel, yet again, like Jackie Chan in the picture above. I start pondering the Facebook comments, the debate, and the election in general, as Tall Guy and Molliekins are snoozing away. Not jealous at all.

It got me thinking, how delusional are we? How distorted or deluded are our beliefs and views of others and reality in general? How did we get here? Words are escaping me and what I want to say isn’t coming out as eloquent as I’d like. I’m just so baffled that I’ll stop here.

I… I guess I just don’t know what to do with my hands anymore…

Leave a Reply

