Food Preppin’, Soda-free Ninja!

ImageI’ve kicked my soda habit! Yeah buddy!

Tomorrow marks one full month of being soda free. WOOT! It’s been a long and tough month, but I did it! I no longer feel like I NEED to have a soda. Yes, I’ve had cravings, but every day those cravings have less and less control over me.

I’ve been a soda drinker my entire life. I love the bubbles, I love the sweetness, and I love the combo they make. I also wouldn’t have made it through my last two years of college without it thanks to the caffeine. However, as I got older I began to hate the way it made me feel (except when there was vodka or rum involved – that was nice). About a month ago I started getting horrible headaches – the type of headache you get right before a full on migraine kicked in. Oy. It sucked. For some reason I knew then that it was time to give up my soda. I was sort of glad that this happened because it forced me to stop my soda habit. I’ve been trying for the longest time to quit, but I had become so addicted to the bubbly, sugary goodness that I just couldn’t do it.

Well, I’ve been soda free for a month now and I feel great. I don’t feel as sluggish and heavy anymore. I feel light; it’s strange. I’m sure I will have soda again in the future (I do enjoy my vodka), but not until I’m able to control my cravings. I was a little too addicted for my taste. Now, whenever I drink a glass of water, I remind myself of how I feel at that moment and how clean and fresh that feeling is. I’m trying to focus on how I feel after drinking or eating something rather than just how it tastes. It seems to be working! I do treat myself to a sparkling apple juice every once in a while to get that bubbly, sweet taste.

sispaj10_lg

My next goal is to decrease my gluten intake. I LOVE bread. I LOVE crackers. I LOVE BAGELS!!! Yeah, it’s an unhealthy love. However, note that I said decrease and not eliminate. I can see myself getting rid of soda, but I can’t see myself doing that with bread. I still want to enjoy what I eat. Also, we have Bagel Day every Wednesday. I can’t pass up a free bagel once a week. That’s just silly talk.

I’ve known that gluten products have been making me feel gross for a while, but I was too stubborn to do anything about it. But, again, as I get older I can’t take feeling like crap anymore just for a type of food or beverage. I would also occasionally break out with a patch of eczema because of it.

pretzelcrisps_flavorsDang, I love these things.

The other day I had about 5 Pretzel Crisps and within minutes I got the worst stomach ache. I felt super gassy and bloated and felt like I wasn’t going to stop expanding. That moment was similar to that of my headache slash time-to-give-up-soda moment. It is time. This moment finally sparked something inside of me that I’ve been trying to do for so long, but was just too lazy, I suppose, to do it. Perhaps I just didn’t want to commit. Who knows. Anyway…

I finally decided that I was going to become a “food prepper” (is ‘prepper’ even a word? It doesn’t sound like it should be a word). All day Sunday I spent driving around buying food containers and going to various grocery stores collecting food for the week and then cooking and preparing it. Tall Guy was pretty happy that I was finally doing this. We’ve been talking about doing something like this for so long. Well, here we go!

BeforeBefore

It was fairly painless (except for my back – I must’ve been standing with poor posture) and I had fun doing it. I’ve never been much of a cook, but rather than focusing on the cooking aspect of food prepping, I focused on the organization aspect of it… “Ooh, I’m going to put 2 hard boiled eggs and 2 pieces of bacon in these tubs, then I’m going to put spinach and sliced apples in those, and I’m going to put 4 strawberries, 3 carrots, 4 pieces of celery and a handful of blueberries in this one.” Yeah, I know – anal retentive much? Whatever, it’s making me do good.

The resulting feeling was happiness, accomplishment and satisfaction. I knew that I was finally doing something that I’ve been thinking about for a while and it was, and is, going to be beneficial for my health. I’m looking forward to doing this again next Sunday and have been brainstorming ideas on how to make it more efficient and better. Yay!

AfterAfter – blue = breakfast, green = lunch, red = snack, little red = oil & vinegar from Viva Oliva

BaconTall Guy’s bacon pile – He gets 4 pieces in his tub because he’s giant.

AvocadosCan’t wait for these bad boys to ripen. Yum!

TallGuyLunchBoxSince Tall Guy works in LA 3 out of 4 weeks a month, he needs to keep his food cold/hot during his trip, so I bought him this neat lunch bag.

2 responses to “Food Preppin’, Soda-free Ninja!

  1. Pingback: A Promise to My Mind and Body – My Whole Life Challenge « Ninja Nomers

  2. Pingback: Peace Out, 2013, and a Big Sexy Hello to 2014! | Ninja Nomers

Leave a Reply

