Here we go… The CrossFit Open AND a Powerlifting Competition?

NinjaCindy-CFGames

(Me and the lovely CinDiesel at the 2012 CrossFit Games)

Yep. I’m doing it and I’m ready. Well, mentally ready – physically, almost.

I was bummed last year because I was still recovering from my Achilles injury and unable to compete in the Open and powerlifting competition. I know that I am again recovering from another softball injury (left shoulder labral tear), but I am almost fully recovered and determined to compete. Don’t worry, I’ve learned a lot from my Achilles injury and know my limits and not to overdo it.

I am nervous, but super excited. However, I am not so excited about having to wear one of these for the powerlifting competition…

Rufskin-Daveo-Wrestling-Singlet

Well, if I looked like that in a singlet I would probably wear one all the time. Moving on…

The CrossFit Open begins March 6 and is a 5-week long competition. In order to qualify for The Games, you must compete in the Open, complete all 5 workouts, and finish in the top percentile. Even though I know I won’t make it to the Games, it will be a fun opportunity to compete with other CrossFitters from all over the world and to see where I stand.

You can keep up with my workout scores in the Open by going to the Games site and viewing my Athlete Profile.

Open-Athlete Profile

The 2013 Santa Barbara Powerlifting Championship will be held on Saturday, April 27 – and I can’t wait! I’ve always enjoyed weightlifting and had a blast in my lifting class my senior year of high school. I will most likely only be doing the deadlift portion as I’m horrible at back squats and am a little nervous about doing the bench press because of my shoulder. But we’ll see. I still have 2.5 months until then, so my shoulder should be ready by then. And because of my age, it looks like I’ll be in the “Sub-master” category. Dang, that makes me feel old. Sigh. Oh well, age ain’t nothin’ but a number, right?

220px-Aaliyah-age-aint-94Thanks, Aaliyah. (RIP)

Well, here we go!!! Time to get trainin’!

245DeadliftPR

Leave a Reply

