If at first you don’t succeed…

… keep trying until you don’t suck anymore. Ha!

 

13.3. Oh, 13.3. I had such high hopes and you just crushed them to smithereens. THANKS.

I’ve been debating whether or not I wanted to write about the atrocity that was my performance of 13.3. It was embarrassing. The video of Hercules above expresses how I felt during and after the WOD. I surprisingly had a lot of people ask me about how the workout went and what my final score was (in person, via text, via FB messages). It’s such a nice feeling knowing that so many people cared and had such high hopes for me. However, it bummed me out to see their sad faces when I told them my score. It felt like I let them down. I wanted to keep this to myself, but if you know me, I can’t keep anything to myself (hence my blog. Duh).

If you read my most recent blog post, you will know that I’ve been on a downer as of late, which contributed to my “wonderful” performance of 13.3. What also contributed to my performance was lack of sleep. My neighbors decided to have the most annoying girls in the world over for two nights this past weekend. So, let’s think about this for a moment. Think about the most annoying person/voice you have ever heard and times it by 1000, then add a horrendous valley girl accent on top. YEP. That is what I got to deal with for two nights straight. “OH MY GAAAAAWWWWWWWIDDDDDDDDD!!! LIKE, YEEEEEEAHHHH.” Then some high-pitched squeals, then more OH MY GAAAAAAAAAWWWWWIDDDDDs came. Oy. Someone shoot me now. They were so loud that I slept in the living room. Tall Guy and I were so exhausted that we couldn’t even put clothes on to go next door to tell them to shut the eff up. However, no doubt about it, I will go next time and they will get an earful. Oh, yes they will. Moving on because them beeotches already consumed enough of my energy…

What I believe to be the main factor of my lackluster performance is the fact that this is only week 3 after coming back from shoulder rehab. Ninja, read that: WEEK 3. You ain’t Annie Thorisdottir. Slow yer roll. I had done better than I ever thought I would on 13.1 and 13.2 that it gave me hope that I could make it through the 150 walls balls, 90 double unders and have a few attempts at some muscle ups. Um yeah, maybe last year when you didn’t have a bum shoulder. I lost track of where I was because I was just so excited to be working out again. In addition to my body reminding me, I had a couple of friends remind me that this was indeed, only my 3rd week back. Sigh. Thanks guys. I really mean that. Thank you for reminding me that I need to continue to be patient with myself and that I will get there again.

I got very upset because I failed at my first attempt at 13.3 last Saturday. Yes, you read that correctly, I attempted this workout TWICE. I actually quit in the middle of a workout after about 50 reps. My head was in the worst place imaginable. I should’ve just waited until Sunday. I have never quit a workout before (except for an injury). There was one time I was doing “Fran” (21-15-9 of thrusters and pull-ups) and I got so frustrated during my set of 15 that I walked out of the gym, down to the stop sign and was ready to walk home. By the time I got to the stop sign I said to myself, “What the f*ck are you doing? Get back in there and finish already!” I didn’t quit and finished that damn workout. I really tried to push through 13.3, I really did, but my body and mind just stopped and said, “NOPE!” I couldn’t go on and that frustrated the crap out of me.

What was happening? How could I have been doing so well and now this? I understand now that it was my body telling me to slow down and be patient and to not get too far ahead of myself. Sigh. Okay, FINE. I will listen, but I won’t like it! Just kidding.

So, in the end, I performed the workout on Sunday and finished with 162 reps (150 wall balls + 12 double unders). I, along with everyone else, expected at least 240 out of me. Quite the difference, eh? The wall balls were more difficult than I have ever experienced, other than my first CrossFit workout ever when I cried and practically hyperventilated after doing them for the first time. It got to the point where I could only do sets of 3, which is uncharacteristic of me. I used to be able to do “Karen” (150 wall balls) in sets of 25 with no problem. Again, I need to remember patience.

13.3. I guess I should say thank you for reminding me to be patient, so thank you. I will visit you again in 3 months, though, and I will OWN you. I made a pact with a friend that we will tackle you again in 3 months and we are going to do it. Oh yes we will!

Thank you, Universe, for reminding me about patience.

patience-everything-happens-for-a-reason

2 responses to “If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. Pingback: Better Than Expected: My 2013 CrossFit Open Experience | Ninja Nomers

  2. Pingback: Peace Out, 2013, and a Big Sexy Hello to 2014! | Ninja Nomers

Leave a Reply

