There’s No Crying in CrossFit

Crying

Actually there is. It happens quite often, whether there are tears or not. I’ve seen it while coaching. I’ve seen it while working out with my friends. I’ve seen it when I happen to glance at the person next to me and our eyes meet and we both know exactly what the other is thinking and feeling: “Fuck. This sucks and I want to quit, but we’re going to get through this together. I won’t let you quit.”

That’s what I love about CrossFit. We are a community of people that push through the suck because we want to be better. Not only better at lifting or pull-ups or what have you, but better at life; we want to be better people in general.

I have no idea why I started crying as I’m not feeling any particular emotion at the moment. Perhaps it was because I was feeling such high emotions over the weekend that I’m coming down. Who knows. The WOD was difficult, but nothing I would expect to make me cry.

One of my workout partners had to quit in the middle of the WOD tonight as well because his hands were shot from last Friday’s WOD (Filthy 50) and is stressed about a trip for work that he has to take in the early morning. Even though my friend and I didn’t complete the WOD tonight, Tall Guy told us that he admires our persistence because even though we may struggle and fail, we do not give up. He also shared this quote with us:

Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan Press On! has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.” 
― Calvin Coolidge

(My favorite part of the quote is “educated derelicts” – it’s so true! 😉 )

Have I told you how much I love this community?

Even though tears may not be present, I can see the emotions in everyone’s faces. Crying is struggle. Crying is not giving up. Crying is emotional release and how we pursue our passion to be better.

Thanks to my workout partners tonight for helping me get through the 3rd round and for just being awesome dudes. (We would’ve been there all night had I done the final round). Y’all are pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

